The Foodie Photographer

Food is love and I'm sharing my passion!

  • Twitter

  • Facebook

  • Subscribe

  • Enter email address to be notified whenever new articles are published.

  • Article by Category

My Comfort Food – Oyako Donburi

Posted by Shannon on 01/25/2011

Winter is merciless in Seattle. Relentless wind, consistent gray skies and sub-40 degree temps. In college, I was lucky enough to learn this dish from a friend, an international student from Japan. This is one of a few recipes I made sure to carry with me through the years.

Back then, I’d come home in the evening, drop my bags and change into comfy clothes. Once in the kitchen, this was an easy dinner to make, involving minimal dishes to wash after. About 20 minutes results in a one-bowl dinner of chicken and onion, pillowed within the savory shoyu soy sauce and egg it’s cooked with.

Oyako donburi is a little like a dinner omelet. As you eat, the sauce soaks its way down into the rice. It’s simplicity make me smile and makes my belly happy.

Oyako donburi

How-to Make Oyako Donburi – Two servings

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 cups cooked white sticky rice
  • 1/2 lb. boneless chicken thigh or breast, cut into 1/2″ pieces
  • 1 medium onion, sliced thinly
  • 2-3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • ½ cup dashi stock (Hondashi)
  • 2 tsp. mirin
  • 1 T Shoyu (Japanese soy sauce)
  • Few dashes of salt

Directions;

  1. In a bowl, combine dashi stock, shoyu, mirin and a dash of salt.
  2. Pour half of the mixture into a small shallow pan. Bring to boil.
  3. Add the chicken and onion, mixing until nearly done.
  4. Slowly drizzle the beaten eggs over the mix.
  5. Cover the pan and reduce to low heat to simmer until the egg is almost set.
  6. Dish rice into both bowls and spoon the donburi & sauce on top.

2 Responses to “My Comfort Food – Oyako Donburi”

  1. randi said

    this looks like awesome hangover food

  2. […] be equally satiating,  but much, much more fulfilling. Eggs are a staple for me: scrambled, in oyako donburi, in pasta carbonara, and hard-boiled as a snack or at the Whole Food salad bar. I wanted to make a […]

Leave a Reply

 
