The Foodie Photographer

Food is love and I'm sharing my passion!

  • Twitter

  • Facebook

  • Subscribe

  • Enter email address to be notified whenever new articles are published.

  • Article by Category

Red Velvet Cake Lollipops (with recipe)

Posted by Shannon on 02/28/2011

Originally, I planned to bake orange creamsicle cookies for my Oscar viewing party dessert contribution. However, I’ve made them about a dozen times and wanted an original idea. I’m a red velvet cupcake fan, so I whipped up a mini & portable bite-size version.

 

Homemade cake lollipop: final product

The responses from people at the party, my coworkers I shared extras with this morning in the office and the comments on Facebook assure me I can post my recipe w/ pride!

Begin w/ red velvet cake mix, cream cheese frosting, white chocolate chips, straws (lollipop sticks,) and mini baking paper cups.

 

Five ingredients to delicious cake pops

Prepare batter like you would any other sheet cake.

 

No rogue egg shells in this batter...

Bake it up.

Bake @ 350 degrees for 35 minutes

Cool completely, about two hours.

 

Break the cake down w/ a fork into a crumb consistency. Transfer to a mixing bowl and fold in the icing with a fork.

 

Break into a crumb consistency w/ a fork

Form the cake into balls, place on foil or wax paper lined baking sheet, and insert sucker sticks. Freeze for 20 minutes or more.

 

Mix in the frosting, shape & freeze

Melt the chocolate chips (white or semi-sweet) over a double-boiler on the stove. Alternately, melt in the microwave for 30 second increments, stirring after each round in the microwave with a spoon. With a spoon, spatula or knife, coat the lollipops in chocolate and return to the tray to dry &  harden.

 

Coat in glorious, fantastic-tasting melted chocolate

Once chocolate has set, carefully transfer each to its own mini paper cup.

The best tip I can give is to think of the people you are baking your dessert (or any food for that matter) for. When I’m happy during the baking process, and I want to feed the people the recipe is intended for, the results (without fail) are positive.

 

Will taste especially good when you think about how much you love... or at least like😉 ....the people you're making this for.

3 Responses to “Red Velvet Cake Lollipops (with recipe)”

  1. yumtherapy said

    Mmm…cake lollipops…what a great idea!

  2. […] me keep it real with you. My own writing style approach has annoyed me a little bit lately. A complicated cake pop recipe…Showing off how sunny it is in California in late winter. Hyperlinking sentences in […]

  3. […] February, I did a step-by-step recap of my red velvet cake pops. It is still a top site traffic driver from Google Search […]

Leave a Reply

 
