The Foodie Photographer

Food is love and I'm sharing my passion!

  • Twitter

  • Facebook

  • Subscribe

  • Enter email address to be notified whenever new articles are published.

  • Article by Category

Joie De Vivre Tuesday #15: Toasted Slivered Almonds

Posted by Shannon on 05/03/2011

The delivery-apparatus for today’s JDVT topic that inspires sublime  happiness? Brioche French Toast at Yellow Vase Cafe, $11, 1805 South Catalina Avenue, Redondo Beach, CA.

Out-of-the-ordinary French Toast sprinkled with silvered almonds that they toast on-site daily. As any French Toast which is deemed ‘stellar’ should be capable of, Yellow Vase’s brioche foregos the need to first be swathed in maple syrup, prior to enjoying.

 

Tales of employees stashing little white baking ramekins in the back room filled with a small amount of these bad boys have been relayed to me on more than one occasion when I order this French Toast in the mornings.

I’d likely risk chastising from my manager too if I smelled the aroma of warmed, oven-kissed  almond slivers each morning I walked into work…

Brioche French Toast, April 2011

My fork navigates around sliced strawberries, then breaks through the slightly crispy edge before sinking into the pillowy, fresh center. I only sunk a bit into the syrup when I wanted a hit of sucrose to vary the experience, and if anything, further instill the genius in the simplicity of this “breakfast favorite.”


Leave a Reply

 
