The Foodie Photographer

Food is love and I'm sharing my passion!

  • Twitter

  • Facebook

  • Subscribe

  • Enter email address to be notified whenever new articles are published.

  • Article by Category

Joie De Vivre Tuesday #16 – The Three-Course Meal

Posted by Shannon on 05/10/2011

A complete meal, homemade on top of that, is a rarity these days. On Wednesday, Jane invited me over to cook phad thai and have some girls time together before our boyfriends returned from the tour. In addition to the lesson on cooking, I really enjoy the time spent with a good friend, discussing the day, the week and things we care about. The connection that comes with preparing a meal together, the satisfaction of sitting down and enjoying it deliciousness, and the re-energizing effect of laughing and sharing fun stories with a friend are things I greatly value. Be it with friends, family, a boyfriend/girlfriend, or even co-workers you’re getting to know a bit better socially… cooking as a duo or group project creates a very fun vibe. Don’t forget to have some good music playing in the background as well!

Our Starter: Pork, ginger and leek gyoza with homemade dipping sauce

Pan-fried & steamed to perfection

These bad boys are from Trader Joe’s and are also available in a vegetarian version. We heated up a few tablespoons of olive oil and placed the flatter side of the half-moon shaped gyozas on to the pan. After browning them up on one side, we added a few tablespoons of water and put the lid on so they could steam. They puffed up in the most adorable way… which was a surprise revealed when we took off the lid (the steam clouded it prior and we couldn’t see in.)

Presentation is key!

Main Course: Shrimp phad thai garnished with crushed peanuts and fresh lime.

 

Beautifully plated by Miss Jane S.

Jane was kind enough to share one of her tried and tested recipes she found awhile back in the New York Times. Once we were finished cooking she dished up our meal while I took the gyoza and shoyu dipping sauce to the table. Such a great visual effect, her mom would be proud!

Dessert: Selection of French  macaroons

Eight bright & light desserts

Starting at the top, moving left to right: Rose, Passion Fruit,  Raspberry, Chocolate, Lavender, Lemon, Mocha & Pistachio.

I decided to try the one least drawn to, because I knew my favorite flavors of pistachio, raspberry and chocolate were there waiting in the wings for me. We halved the macaroons as we tried them to conserve stomach space! I took on the rose macaroon. My aversion comes from not having experienced many floral-flavor-infused creations that I enjoy. A chocolate lavender cupcake in Seattle a few years back scarred me. I was wrong in this case. The rose was subtle and absent of a chemical or artificial aftertaste. The tangy passion fruit also delivered a great one-two punch after I was initially sucked in by its orange hue (my favorite color.

Macaroon de Chocolat

We ended things out with this sweet chocolate macaroon. Delicious as anticipated.

One Response to “Joie De Vivre Tuesday #16 – The Three-Course Meal”

  1. webdesign said

    Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for beginner blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

 
