The Foodie Photographer

Food is love and I'm sharing my passion!

  • Twitter

  • Facebook

  • Subscribe

  • Enter email address to be notified whenever new articles are published.

  • Article by Category

Roscoe’s Chicken & Waffles — Long Beach, CA

Posted by Shannon on 02/08/2012

Super Bowl Sunday may have ended shabbily (Go Pats!) but it started in delicious, deep-fried splendor. Where? The original. The California legend… Roscoe’s House of Chicken’n Waffles.

Roscoes, Roscoe's Chicken & Waffles, Long Beach, California, deep fried chicken

If you live in California, go eat there this weekend. If you live anywhere else…get on a plane. I’ll pick you up at LAX and we’ll go together.

Roscoes, Roscoe's Chicken & Waffles, Long Beach, California, deep fried chicken, Roscoe's Scho's 2

Around 9am, Steve and I had already reached consensus that we wanted chicken and waffles for breakfast… specifically from Roscoe’s in Long Beach. I knew I wanted the waffles and at least two pieces of chicken. The last time I was here that was a “Scoe’s #2,” but since it’s been more than a year since my last visit the menu had changed. I quickly found what I was looking for, the Scoe’s #1 which is two waffles and two pieces of chicken (one light meat, one dark meat) and an extra side of syrup.

Roscoes, Roscoe's Chicken & Waffles, Long Beach, California, deep fried chicken, Roscoe's menu

The majority of the Sunday morning crowd while we were there were families. Parents w/ kids ranging from toddlers in high chairs, to college-aged ones in hoodies and basketball shorts. This differed greatly from the scene when I came here last. Probably because the last handful of times I’ve eaten at Roscoe’s, it’s been around midnight or 1 a.m., directly following a night out w/ friends. I digress…

Roscoes, Roscoe's Chicken & Waffles, Long Beach, California, deep fried chicken

Oh sumptuous pairing of piping hot, crunchy, savory chicken & buttery, sweet, soft waffles. I immediately tore into my first piece of chicken (dipped in a little hot sauce) and did the “hee hee, who who” lamaze-style breathing as the steam trapped beneath the drumstick’s crispy skin was released.

Roscoes, Roscoe's Chicken & Waffles, Long Beach, California, deep fried chicken

I demolished the chicken. Not sure if anyone else does this, but I butter and syrup-dip my waffle one bite at a time. It tastes like there is malt powder possibly in their waffle mix but I’m not positive. Whatever the case, the waffles are porous and absorb the syrup wonderfully and I love it! It’s a time intensive process, yes, but I love submerging each buttery bite in syrup. Future diabetic? Possibly.

Not to ignore the chicken. In honesty, I was already into my second piece of chicken before I cut into my waffle. Towards the end of the meal, when Steve was full and offered me part of his remaining chicken, I somehow found more stomach space and tucked into the thigh piece w/ my fork and knife. We kept talking and somehow, when he reached over w/ his fork for another bite, I’d accidentally eaten almost all of it. “Oops, I guess that was more than a bite.”  A flash of confusion crossed his face before he burst into laughter.

Locations: Hollywood, West LA, Long Beach, LA & Pasadena

Suggestions: Scho’s #1, Sweet Potato Pie, Country Boy, Side of Grits w/ cheese

Leave a comment